Open For Entries

2019 Frost Farm Prize for Metrical Poetry

The 2019 Frost Farm Prize is now open for for entries. 

Winner and finalists will be notified by May 15, 2019. Winner and finalists will be notified by phone and email. Results will be announced shortly after that on this site and Facebook.

Deadline: March 31, 2019 (online submission deadline is 11:59 pm, EST).

The Trustees of the Robert Frost Farm in Derry, NH, and the Hyla Brook Poets invite submissions for the 9th Annual The Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry. The winner receives $1,000 and an invitation, with honorarium, to read in June 2019 as part of The Hyla Brook Reading Series at the Robert Frost Farm. The reading opens the Frost Farm Poetry Conference, which is devoted to metrical poetry. The winner also receives a scholarship to attend the conference. 

This year’s judge is Bruce Bennett. Bruce Bennett is the author of ten full-length collections of poetry and more than thirty poetry chapbooks. His most recent book is Just Another Day in Just Our Town  Poems: New And Selected, 2000-2016 (Orchises Press, 2017). His first New And Selected, Navigating The Distances, also from Orchises, was chosen by Booklist as “One Of The Top Ten Poetry Books Of 1999.” His most recent chapbook is A Man Rode Into Town (FootHills Publishing, 2018). His poetry website is

All entries will be anonymous. The judge will read every entry.

Complete Frost Farm Prize Guidelines (Guidelines are also posted on the electronic submission form):

Deadline: March 31, 2019 (online submission deadline by 11:59 pm, EST).

Poems must be original, unpublished and metrical (any metrical form). No translations. There is no limit to the number of poems entered by an individual, but an entry fee of $6 U.S. per poem must accompany the submission. You are welcome to submit a poem sequence (a crown of sonnets, for example) but each poem must be entered as a separate file and will be judged individually. We welcome international submissions written in English.


All entries are via Submittable. If you do not have a Submittable account, you will be directed to set one up as part of the electronic entry process. It takes only seconds to register for an account. 

Do not put your name on individual poems as poems are judged anonymously.  Your Submittable account links you to the poem. Each individual poem must be a separate .pdf, .doc or .docx file that should resemble the following format: poemtitle.pdf, poemtitle.doc or poemtitle.docx. "Poemtitle" in the file name should exactly match the title typed at the top of the poem. PLEASE USE A SINGLE SUBMITTABLE SUBMISSION TO ATTACH UP TO TEN POEMS IN SEPARATE DOCUMENTS. The online form supports 1-10 attachments in .pdf, .doc or .docx formats. If you are submitting more than 10 poems, simply complete an additional Submittable submission and attach up to 10 additional poems. You are free to submit as many poems as you wish in this manner. Click the button below to enter our Submittable site9


For those who do not want to submit electronically, we will still accept paper submissions per below:

An entry fee of $6 U.S. per poem must accompany the submission (entry fees from outside the United States must be paid in cash or by check drawn on a U.S. bank). Make checks payable to "Hyla Brook Poets." Please type the author's name, address, phone number and e-mail address on the back of each entry. Each entry will be submitted to the judge anonymously.

Send entries to:
Robert Crawford
The Frost Farm Prize
280 Candia Rd.
Chester, NH 03036

The results will be posted in May 2019 on and as well as Winner and honorable mentions (if any) will be notified by email or phone. Please DO NOT send a SASE for contest results. These are the complete guidelines.

Click our Facebook and Twitter links at the bottom of this page and follow us to receive timely updates on the 9th Annual Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry as well as our other programs.


Previous Prize Winners:

2018 Susan de Sola of the Netherlands, for “Buddy” — Judge Melissa Balmain

2017 Caitlin Doyle of Cincinnati, Ohio, for "Wishes" --Judge Deborah Warren

2016 James Najarien of Auburndale, Massachussets for "Dark Ages" -- Judge David Rothman

2015  Kevin Durkin of Santa Monica, California for "Meteor Crater" - Judge Joshua Mehigan  

2014  Rob Wright of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for "Meetings with my Father" - Judge Rhina Espaillat

2013  Caki Wilkinson of Sewanee, Tennessee,  for "Arts and Crafts"  - Judge Catherine Tufariello 

2012  Richard Meyer of Mankato, Minnesota, for, "Fieldstone" - Judge Richard Wakefield

2011   Sharon Fish Mooney of Coshocton, Ohio for "Dimly Burning Wicks" - Judge Bill Baer

Click our Facebook and Twitter links at the bottom of this page and follow us to receive timely updates on the 7th Annual Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry as well as our other programs.


About the Frost Farm’s Hyla Brook Poets

The Frost Farm was home to the poet and his family from 1900-1909. The Hyla Brook Poets, a 501(c)(3), started in 2008 as a monthly poetry workshop. In March 2009, the Hyla Brook Reading Series launched with readings by emerging poets as well as luminaries such as Maxine Kumin, David Ferry, Linda Pastan, and Sharon Olds. The Frost Farm Prize was introduced in 2010, followed by the inaugural Frost Farm Poetry Conference in 2015.




Sponsored by the Trustees of the Robert Frost Farm and the Hyla Brook Poets